Summer Tomatoes!


Tomato bonanza!
Originally uploaded by Calliope1.

It’s tomato season! I didn’t grow any this year because I was too damn lazy, but luckily GM’s friends grow them & leave them at our back door. Sometimes we get too many tomatoes so I have to go into overdrive & make TOMATO PIE!!

I’m sure there are official recipes out there but all I do is get a couple of pre-made pie shells & firm them up for 5 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Then, in a mixing bowl stir together a cup of ricotta cheese, a 1/2 cup of mayo, a good handful of fresh, torn basil, & a dash of oregano. I layer the tomatoes (which I slice, salt & drain for an hour before using) and the ricotta mixture and then finish with a layer of mozzarella cheese. Then I bake it for 30 minutes. You can serve it hot or cold. But I will warn you- if you try to serve it hot it will be a bit of a mess & not look as pretty.

It’s damn tasty! I serve it with a cold class of Buffalo Rock, which is a sassy southern root beer with a lot of bite.

9 thoughts on “Summer Tomatoes!

  1. omg – that sounds SOOO good… and here in new england we are a good MONTH before we get home grown tomatoes… I miss the south sometimes (not the weather, but the tomatoes in june ARE nice!)

  2. that sounds incredible. If I ever found myself in your neck of the woods in the summertime, i’d beg you to make it.

  3. I LOVE tomatoes and have never heard of this! I went to the farmer’s market on Thursday and the Tomato girl gave me 3 extra baskets of tomatoes..so I have tomatoes up the wazoo..now I know what I’ll make. Thanks for the idea Cali!

  4. Wow, never mind the pie (though it does sound devilishly tempting), those babies look delicious!!
    Give me a baguette, some olive oil and black pepper, I could eat them breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Tomatoes grown in our British climate are often sorry, tasteless excuses for…wel…tomatoes! I’m jealous.

  5. My mum always makes fantastic tomato relish – which I love to eat but can’t bothered to make.

    I make a tomato pie too – I am going to try yours it sounds completely gorgeous – mine goes like this – half tomatos (about 6) and slow roast them for about 40 mins in a good oil, a bit of salt and pepper. While this is happening put two sheets of pre-made filo pastry in the bottom a baking tray,the two pieces meet together in the middle of the tray and leave pastry at the ends to fold over into a crust.

    Put a 300gm tub of ricotta, shredded basil, two eggs, about a 1/4 cup of parmesan, salt and pepper in a bowl and mix throughly.

    Put the ricotta mixture in the pastry case, plop the tomatoes on the top – they will sink down – in a nice pattern across the top and bake for about 30 mins in a 250 oven.

    Hot or cold – yum!

    Everyone loves it adults, children alike.

  6. this sounds sooo yummy :0)
    making my mouth water… my neighbor wants to teach me how to do tomatoe jelly but i am still kinda leery on it..
    but your recipe sounds divine !!!

  7. My Italian grandmother and pretty much every pizza establishment in my area called pizza “tomato pie.” Might be a weird central NJ thing, so I assumed that was what you were making. Hmm… something different though. I may need to try that soon. Sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

