While we wait…Part II

So yesterday we got to know each other better (or rather realized that we were all kind of the same) through a political survey. I think there is a post to be written about our results, but I am not up to it now.

Now let’s talk about something else that, according to many, should not be discussed in polite conversation. But whoever accused us of being polite?

Starhillgirl unearthed a groovy religion survey that is in the same sort of “check how you feel and we will tell you who you are” style as yesterday’s political survey. I have seen religion polls before, but I like that this one has more results than just the obvious religions.

So let’s go there. Take this survey and and let’s talk about it.

My top 5:

  1. Mainline-Liberal Christian Protestant- 100%
  2. Liberal Quaker- 96%
  3. Unitarian Universalism- 95%
  4. Neo-Pagan- 82%
  5. Orthodox Quaker- 82%

I’m guessing my #1 option (and I do like to see these as options) is pretty in line with my go to religion of liberal Episcopalian.

But I am interested in researching the Quaker option. I have two good friends that have mentioned that they are Quakers. And I always love to read the phrase “holding you in the light”- doesn’t that sound like the best place to be held?

So what were your top options? Do you feel that the results are in line with your actual beliefs? Any surprises?

34 thoughts on “While we wait…Part II

  1. Interesting quiz…here are my top 5
    1. Liberal Quakers (100%)
    2. Unitarian Universalism (95%)
    3. Neo-Pagan (92%)
    4. New Age (88%)
    5. Reform Judaism (86%)

    I think this is pretty spot on for me, as I (when I manage to drag myself out of bed on Sundays) attend church, it is a UU church. And I identify most with the earth based religions, ie Wicca, which I’m assuming fall sunder neo-pagan or new age, despite the fact that it has been around forever. The Liberal Quaker surprised me only because I really know nothing about the Quaker beliefs…so wasn’t expecting that to be a 100% match. Hmmmm, I should do some reading on that.

  2. 1) Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (100%)

    2) Orthodox Quaker (100%)

    3) Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (92%)

    Yeah, that’s about right. 🙂 I’m in a moderate presbyterian church and happy there.

  3. My top answers:
    Your Results:

    1. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (100%)

    2. Liberal Quakers (92%)

    3. Unitarian Universalism (90%)

    4. Neo-Pagan (80%)

    5. Orthodox Quaker (80%)

    6. New Age (76%)

    7. Reform Judaism (69%)

    I do consider myself mainline liberal protestant, so I’m not overly surprised. I would really like to know how each question effected my score; that is, which answers align me with Judaism, the Quakers, or the Universalists. Obviously, there is something that they all have in common.

  4. 1. Neo-Pagan (100%)
    2. New Age (97%)
    3. Liberal Quakers (94%)
    4. Unitarian Universalism (94%)
    5. Secular Humanism (82%)

    Well, this seems pretty accurate to me. I do consider myself a neo-pagan, and I have strong overtones of whoo-whoo new ageyness. But, when we go to church, we go to the UU church, and we had Sassa dedicated in our UU church last December. I don’t know much about Liberal Quakers or Securlar Humanism, though, so maybe I should look them up. Not as a possible religious choice, but as possible allies and cool people.

  5. 1. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (100%)
    2. Orthodox Quaker (84%)
    3. Liberal Quakers (84%)

    Seems right-on to me, as I play for the Episcopalian team. I don’t know much about Orthodox Quakerism, but have always connected with the Quaker principle of pacifism.

  6. 1. Mainline- Liberal Christian Protestant (100%)
    2. Mianline- Conservatice Christian Protestant (89%)
    3. Roman Catholic (78%)

    Seems good to me. I am practicing Roman Catholic, but I have clear issues with some of the principles of my faith. So I modify it as I see fit. I will have to look into a Protestant Church of sorts.

    Thanks for the interesting survey.

  7. 1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Neo-Pagan (97%)
    3. New Thought (96%)
    4. New Age (95%)
    5. Reform Judaism (92%)

    I’ll have to check out a UU church to see how I feel about it. My spiritual beliefs have been pretty home based…maybe I need to branch out and see what’s out there.

    I was a little concerned that Scientology was #9 (81%)…

  8. Hey! I took that awhile back and my number one was a liberal quaker. You should move to Philly where the quakers rule and we can be quakers together.

  9. As a former Philosophy Student I’m not surprised by the answers.. 1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (92%)
    3. Mahayana Buddhism (87%)
    4. Theravada Buddhism (86%)
    5. Secular Humanism (83%)

  10. I was afraid of taking this test, because I was sure it would out me as totally not being close to my mainline liberal Christian church. Fortunately, my fears were baseless. At least pretty much.

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (92%)
    3. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (87%)
    4. Theravada Buddhism (78%)
    5. Reform Judaism (76%)

    I might read more about Theravada Buddhism. And I’m amused by the fact that my many years of being the token non-Jew in my circle of friends apparently rubbed off. Or maybe those beliefs are why I hung out with those people in the first place.

  11. I consider myself agnostic but I thought I would take the quiz for shits and giggles. UU has actually always interested me so it was interesting as #1.

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (95%)
    3. Neo-Pagan (92%)
    4. New Age (88%)
    5. Secular Humanism (83%)

  12. 1. Mainline Liberal Protestants (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (92%)
    3. Unitarian Universalist (83%)

    Spot on for this Episcopalian gal. I’ve never studied the Quaker faith, but have been to a UU service. I’ll tell you, there is nothing so opposite as Episcopal and UU. For someone like me who is accustomed to rite and ceremony, it was certainly eye-opening.

  13. I’ve taken something similar before, and I scored high on the Episcopalian/Lutern/Quaker similarities there. I think it was at beliefnet.com.

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (95%)
    3. Reform Judaism (93%)
    4. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (89%)
    5. Bahai (79%)

    I turned my back on my conservative evangelical protestant upbringing, so I’m not really surprised. I’ve even considered looking into Judaism before, but Manly is firmly in the Christian camp. We don’t go to church currently, but I would most likely pick a liberal protestant congregation if I started back.

    The only thing unusual to me was that Bahai showed up on my list. One of my ex-sorority sisters was the only person I ever knew who was Bahai. I wonder if some of her outlook rubbed off on me while I was in a transitionary mindset.

  14. 1. Neo-Pagan (100%)
    2. New Age (97%)
    3. Mahayana Buddhism (88%)
    4. Unitarian Universalism (86%)
    5. Theravada Buddhism (75%)
    6. Liberal Quakers (75%)

    Having been raised as absolutely nothing whatsoever, I was pretty suprised by my results. Heck, I’d have been suprised by ANY results. I don’t know much about any of these religions, so I suppose I have my work cut out for me this afternoon.

  15. 1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Secular Humanism (99%)
    3. Neo-Pagan (91%)
    4. Theravada Buddhism (88%)
    5. Liberal Quakers (81%)

    And yet again we all match. Or many of us, anyway. I am not actually surprised that my Quakerism didn’t get up higher – I fit into NYC Quakerdom just fine but I am too agnostic for it on quizzes. My most important religion thing is the whole ‘God is love’ bit – that could really be said to be my entire spiritual belief system right there.

    From the small amount I have read about Unitarians, it would be too “religion-ish” for me, so not sure how that got in there so highly.

    Ethical Culture Society has always seemed cool to me – kind of like humanism. I think that if I were to feel the need to go back to a spiritual community (I haven’t been to Meeting in a couple of years, actually, though I still consider Quakers to be my people), I would try ECS. Plus it’s in the neighborhood and my spritual needs really must be met locally.

  16. My top 5 were (in this order): Neo-Pagan, UU, Liberal Quaker, New Age, Reform Judaism. But that doens’t really jive with who I am — Quakers are too Christian for me and UU and New Age are too woo-woo for me. I didn’t like the questions all that much.

  17. Very interesting! I was raised Black Southern Baptist, sporadic adult attendance at Episcopalian church. But I’ve always been searching and questioning, and in the last few months have been looking at Judaism; it feels right to me more so than Christianity. But I sorta feel like conversion (if it turned out right for me) would be somehow “wrong” or “presumptious”, and had been looking at Noahidism. V. interesting that Reform Judaism turned out as my 100% match.

    1. Reform Judaism (100%)
    2. Bahai (86%)
    3. Liberal Quakers (85%)
    4. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (83%)
    5. Neo-Pagan (81%)

  18. My top 5:

    1. Neo-Paganism 100%
    2. Mahayana Buddhism 91%
    3. New Age 88%
    4. Unitarian Universalism 84%
    5. Theravada Buddhism 76%
    6. Liberal Quaker 64%

    Welp, I’m a pagan, and the rest of it’s pretty much on target as well. I’ve always thought that if going to church became a requirement in this country I’d either go UU or LQ.

    Can’t wait to see what else comes up for everyone!

  19. Holy shit. i’m honestly completely baffled that i even registered on this scale! i consider myself a complete athiest, mainly because i don’t believe in god, but believe in the power of mankind and universal karma…but what do you know?:

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Secular Humanism (97%)
    3. Neo-Pagan (86%)
    4. Liberal Quakers (83%)
    5. New Age (77%)
    6. Theravada Buddhism (73%)

  20. 1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Neo-Pagan (97%)
    3. Secular Humanism (95%)
    4. Liberal Quakers (92%)
    5. Theravada Buddhism (85%)

    I grew up Roman Catholic (theologian for a father and all) but I appear to have fallen far from the tree as that was my second to worst compatibility with only 21%. That said, I don’t think I will post this on my bog (that my father reads). I think UU could be a really good match for me.

  21. Calliope, albiet interesting, your quizzes have been freaking me out.

    1. Sikhism (100%)
    2. Reform Judaism (96%)
    3. Unitarian Universalism (96%)
    4. Liberal Quakers (90%)
    5. Neo-Pagan (90%)
    6. Bahai (85%)
    7. New Age (82%)
    8. Mahayana Buddhism (82%)
    9. Jainism (82%)
    10. Orthodox Judaism (75%)

    I don’t know how much I put into this quiz, though, because I am extremely Pro-Choice (not to be confused with Pro-Abortion) and this religion states the opposite belief, therefore, I don’t see how my match can be 100%. Religion… politics… what’s next, girlfriend?

  22. My top 5:
    1. Neo-Pagan (100%)
    2. New Age (95%)
    3. Unitarian Universalism (85%)
    4. Hinduism (73%)
    5. Scientology (73%)

    Aaaarggggh! Okay, Neo-pagan is pretty accurate, and Hinduism I can get behind, but Scientology? Where are my beloved Quakers? Or my beloved Judaism? I have a personal bias against UUs, but that was because of a congregation I just did not match well with.

    I grew up Catholic, but now I’m kind of a blend of Liberal Quaker and Conservative Pagan.

  23. I must have answered the questions way off, mind you I wasn’t wearing my glasses, but so not what I epected or in line with most of my bleifs.

    1. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (100%)
    2. Orthodox Quaker (98%)
    3. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (95%)
    4. Liberal Quakers (86%)
    5. Mainline – Conservative Christian Protestant (85%)
    6. Unitarian Universalism (83%)
    7. Jehovah’s Witness (82%)
    8. Reform Judaism (76%)
    9. Seventh Day Adventist (75%)
    10. Orthodox Judaism (74%)

  24. 1. Neo-Pagan (100%)
    2. Unitarian Universalism (88%)
    3. New Age (86%)
    4. Liberal Quakers (86%)
    5. Mahayana Buddhism (85%)

    Hmmmmm – yep I’m thinkin that about sums me up. It’s always interesting to me how many people who identify with paganism were raised Catholic. Almost as if we crave the pomp and ritual yet shy from the dogma. Just interesting, that’s all. And scientology was not all that far down on my list either…hahahaha!

  25. 1. Liberal Christian Protestants (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (89%)
    3. Bahai (84%)
    4. Orthodox Quaker (79%)
    5. Unitarian Universalism (78%)

    Interesting. I had no idea how mine would turn out. I was raised as Jehovah’s Witness (yup), attended UU for awhile in high school, studied Taoism and Native American spirituality for awhile in college, lived in Mormonville during grad school years, and now am attending a liberal Baptist church heavy into social activism in New England (never knew such a thing existed, but lo and behold). That said, there were some questions I couldn’t find a suitable response for, as I’m sure others found too. Like I believe evolution vs creation is a false dichotomy, and all the answers were pretty much either/or. Thanks for the thought provoking quiz, and feel like I should learn more about the Quakers too!

  26. I think I am a total agnostic. I couldn’t do the quiz because it was stressing me out and reminding me way too much of my 13 years of Catholic education. I feel that I am searching for something – some group or personal practice – but I never seem to feel quite at home with any of them. I’ve pretty seriously checked out Unitarianism, the principles of which appeal to me, but for some reason I feel uncomfortable being part of the group itself and so I don’t attend their services. I guess for me religion is deeply personal and private. So anyway I learned something from my reaction to the quiz anyway! So thanks for posting it.

  27. 1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (92%)
    3. Secular Humanism (84%)
    4. Neo-Pagan (80%)
    5. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (79%)

    The last time I took one of these, Bahai was my #1. Now it is way down at 13. I wonder what was different? I am SHOCKED that I got anything Christian in my top 5. That has never happened.

  28. My results:

    1. Unitarian Universalism (100%)
    2. Liberal Quakers (95%)
    3. Neo-Pagan (92%)
    4. New Age (90%)
    5. Theravada Buddhism (88%)
    6. Secular Humanism (85%)
    7. Mahayana Buddhism (82%)
    8. Mainline – Liberal Christian Protestants (79%)

    Not at all surprising. I kept these 8 in because #8 is how I was raised.

Leave a Reply

