Let’s watch some TV together.

So yes. I watch TV. Lots. And some of it is good and some of it is absolute fill the void of my day shit. If things are bad I watch something else. If things are great I feel the need to tell you all about it.

Here is where I tell you that one of my favorite shows is 30DAYS on the FX channel. Created by the man that opened up everyone’s eyes to what an extra helping of fries will do to your health, this show literally puts a person in another person’s world with the hope of creating change through understanding.

So far this season Morgan Spurlock has lived as a West Virgina coal miner, a star NFL player has lived as a wheelchair bound person, and a rabid hunter has experienced life as a PETA member (an episode I have not yet been able to watch). Tomorrow the subject at hand will be a woman that does not believe that gay couples should be allowed to adopt.

Here is the blurb from the show’s website:

PARTICIPANT – Kati, 41
RESIDES – Fullerton, CA
OCCUPATION – Substitute Teacher
AIRDATE – Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Kati believes that children should be raised by a mother and a father and not by same-sex parents. As the mother of two adopted sons Kati believes that she has ample experience to determine what kind of environment is conducive to healthy, successful adoptions. In fact, Kati was adopted as an infant herself.

For 30 Days, Kati will live in Ypsilanti, Michigan with domestic partners Dennis and Thomas Patrick and their four adopted sons: Josh, 11; Paul, 8; Joey, 8; and Raul, 6. The Patrick’s have been together for 10 years, and in 2001, Thomas legally changed his last name to Patrick. Kati will attend church with the family, help the boys get ready for school each morning and talk candidly about her views on parenting and gay adoption as she observes how the Patrick’s parent their boys.

Kati will volunteer and travel to the state capitol with the Coalition for Adoption Rights Equality (CARE), a children’s advocacy group lobbying for legislation to legalize dual-parenting rights for same-gender couples. She will socialize with women from the Lesbian Mom’s Network, a group that connects lesbian mothers and their children with families like their own. She will also meet with former foster children who talk about what it’s like to grow up without parents or a permanent home and the need for more foster parents.

The show doesn’t sugarcoat or force change in a person, I mean how could it? But within 30 days you see it happen. You see the mind relax and the change is utterly organic.

Personally it makes me incredibly sad that so many states don’t recognize gay couples or individuals as candidates for foster programs or adoption. I am very hopeful that this show will shed some light on that issue, but I am more hopeful that it will be seen by many and talked about.

So set your DVR’s and on Wednesday let’s talk about it.  And um…we might be talking about Celebrity Family Feud as well (OMG: Team Ice T!). And fine…So You Think You Can Dance and Nashville Star might be mentioned too. Just set your DVRs for everything and on Wednesday we will explode with pop culture.

20 thoughts on “Let’s watch some TV together.

  1. That show sounds like it might be a good one, I may have to see if I can find it on my TV. It will be interesting to see if someone in that position can or will allow their mind to be changed. It is sad that there is so much discrimination towards those who are different. I also have failed so far (oh my God I’m slipping) to watch Nashville star in spite of my favorite guy being on the show.

  2. I watch way too much TV, too. A new favorite that I’ve recently picked up is Legally Blonde, which is the reality TV show search for the next Elle Woods on Broadway. It’s set up almost in the fashion of America’s Next Top Model, and being an ex-drama nerd, it’s right up my alley.

    30 Days is also one of my favorites and I’m so glad the new season has finally started. I’ve been hooked on Spurlock since his 30-day stint with Mickey D’s. There’s nothing like getting hit with a McBrick after downing a Big Mac and fries.

    I set my DVR to record tonight’s episode as soon as I saw the preview last week. It’s one of those topics that always gets me quite hot under the collar. I’m glad you’ll be discussing it over here, because I knew just from watching the previews that I’d want to engage in some intelligent discourse on the episode.

    Then for non-intelligent discourse, there’s always SYTYCD. Can’t wait for that, either.

  3. DVR has changed my life. I haven’t seen 30 days yet. I saw a preview for that episode though. My initial reaction is not to watch it, because it upsets me so much to have to listen to some bigot rant off on people like that. You’d have to be so strong to go into something like that.

    Do you watch Iron Chef? The Closer? Weeds? They are all starting new seasons soon and I’m beyond excited.

    Wish I could watch with you. ox

  4. 30Days was aired on TV here ages ago, which is a bit of a change – something airing here in the UK before the almighty US.

    I love some TV as well, I just wish we weren’t always months behind US shows, then I could actually participate in such conversations!

  5. You know what’s awesome? B and I have babysat for Dennis and Tom. It was a long time ago, but we were at their house, babysitty. Baby Raoul (you will see how old his is now) actually threw up all over B!
    Dennis is a professor at my alma mater and we have been on committees together. I think it is awesome for them.

  6. Thanks so much for leaving your site and a comment on my blog today. I am in desperate need to connect with those who have been there and who are still there. I will be sticking around. Hope that’s okay.

  7. you know what my fave new show is? In Plain Sight on the USA network. Love it. Also I really like Burn Notice. Sexy.

    I’ll check out the 30 days. i might have to shut it off, though, as that’s exactly what we’re working so hard on so it’s raw.

  8. I see J already commented, but we babysat for Dennis and Tom once. They are two of the nicest men I think I have ever met. They opened their hearts and home to several foster and adopted children, and we are honored to know them. I can’t wait to see this episode! I trust that Spurlock will accurately reflect the good in them, and ultimately the good that lies in any family that is surrounded in love – no matter who the parents happen to be.

  9. Yes, thanks for the info! I am pretty sure that is the episode that Co and I were contacted about. (Because someone who works for the show found our blog!! Craziness!!!)

    You have seen our apartment briefly and know what it would be like for anyone to share it with us for 30 days.

  10. Thanks for the info. I’ve been watching way too much tv lately, too. I’ve got my DVR set to record. It would be great to see the woman not be such a douche canoe anymore.

  11. Watched the show. It was very painful to watch, as Kati was the most closed minded person I have seen in a long time. I don’t expect her opinions to change, but I usually see this show, and normally the person from the other side of the situation at least acknowledges or concedes some points for the other side. They normally can understand the other side better after those thirty days. Kati, on the other hand, seemed to be very defensive from the get go. She often said she was feeling persecuted (oh, gee, like maybe gays and lesbians ALWAYS feel…). And her main “argument” against gays and lesbians adopting was essentially homophobia. And that was it. Nothing else. Dennis and Tom and others tried several substantive arguments (i.e. foster kids not having anywhere else to go; the fact that the biological relatives of their adoptive kids found them wonderful; that the children were fine and NOT “becoming” gay or lesbian, etc.). She just did not want to hear it, and kept spouting off her Christian Right crap…

    All in all, very annoying to watch poor Dennis and Tom deal with this self obsessed woman.

  12. I watched the show. I found that Kati was arrogant and standoff-ish from the very beginning. I think the worst part was when she went to the CARE meeting and was talking with the woman about how the woman could not parent anymore because she was not biologically linked to the child she had. Kati kept saying that she should of accepted who she was and not attempted to parent because she was in a relationship with another woman. That made me very sad. This woman wanted to parent, was able to parent, and then lost the ability to see the child because of circumstances beyond her control. Kati kept treating the situation as if she were the only “morally right” person out there and just because somebody was a homosexual that they couldn’t have morals. She never saw any of those people as people but as homosexuals.

    Just because people are straight does’t necessarily mean that they will be great parents even if in a relationship.

    I think whether people are gay or straight or single by choice, all children need male and female role models. Those role models can be parents, aunt, uncles, people in the community/church, or organizations for youth development. I think that Tom and Dennis are providing a great environment for their kids and providing them with good role models. The groups of people that they associate with provide other sources of support and role model examples for their children. The children have role models, love, support, encouragment etc and those parents should not be judged solely on their relationship with each other when looking at how the children are being raised. It was fairly obvious from the beginning that Kati would never even consider compromising or admitting that they were good parents because her mind was so jaded with the idea of children “becomming gay” that she couldn’t look past that to see how the children were being raised.

    Although I did have to chuckle a moment when at the beginning of the show they were talking about how just about anyone could have children. If that were the case most of the people in this community wouldn’t be here.

  13. I watched it, and thought it was terribly sad. How difficult it must be to go through life determined to keep your mind and heart closed to anything that goes against what you “know” is right. Throughout the hour, you could see Katie struggling to reconcile her beliefs with what she was seeing in front of her. Time and again, she chose to retreat into her cozy little beliefs rather than face a new truth.

    The only part that really made me mad was her absolute refusal to understand why her beliefs are offensive to others. One of the dads did, I thought, a good job of explaining why he has no problem with her thoughts, but a big problem when those thoughts became actions that threatened his family, but she simply refused to understand. Normally, I’d give someone a lot of credit for at least trying to live outside of his/her comfort zone, but here it seemed that Katie went on this show only to prove that she couldn’t be moved, even by compelling evidence and arguments. Why did she even bother?

Leave a Reply

